FreeNAS Installation failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tristan Fiske

Dabbler
Okay so this is my first time installing FreeNAS because I have always made active directory domains on Ubuntu but somebody told me FreeNAS is much better. I"m installing on an old HP dl380 G5, I have 7 bays with 73 gig drives all on separate logical drives as "raid 0" (even though there are only 1 drive in each), So I have the FreeNAS installation media on an 8gb stick, and I have a 32gb stick to install FreeNAS on. Every time I try to install FreeNAS (on any drive/usb stick) the installation at "The FreeNAS Installation on da5 da7 has failed. Press enter to continue" and I press enter and it just brings me back to the home menu. http://imgur.com/gallery/v2bsI

Last edited by a moderator:

Tristan Fiske

Dabbler
Update: I unplugged the USB that I was going to install FreeNAS on, and I realized that the "da" coresponds to the hard drive, and no matter what drive I use, it tells me that that specific drive has failed. so if I use da0 then it says "The FreeNAS Installation on da0 has failed. Press enter to continue"

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
What is the 32GB flash drive listed as during the install? At some point you are asked to which drive you want the OS to be installed to, are you seeing the 32GB flash drive at that point? You may have also to read up a bit about the ZFS file system used for FreeNAS and it's incompatibility with hardware RAID cards. Host Bus Adapter cards work very well with FreeNAS when placed in IT mode with the P20 firmware (that matches up with the driver used in FreeNAS current stable versions). If you are new to FreeNAS, you should not be trying a beta version of the software, (read version 10 master). The recent stable version is 9.10.2, Good luck:)

Tristan Fiske

Dabbler