FreeNAS in Hyper-V on win10 desktop?

Peregrine

Cadet
Hello,
I'm very new to freeNAS. I've been reading up and learning for several days, but still have more to read. However, there are some questions I can't find answers to, so I was wondering if you could help me.

What I want to do is a very small personal solution, just to mirror two 3TB HDDs, at least for now. Originally I was looking into "hardware" RAID controllers, but apparently freeNAS has more benefits. I love freeNAS flexibility, dependability, universality and many options, want to be able to read SMART info, want to keep good speed transfer rates, and not waste a lot of money on it all. Seems like freeNAS is the winner.

My hardware overview (can provide more details if needed) :
- ATX full size case
- Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 bios 2901
- AMD FX 8350
- 16 GB DDR3 1866MHz (soon expanding to 32GB)
- MSI R9 270 Gaming 2G
- 700W PSU
- Win10Pro on 500GB SSD on ahci SB950
- 2x 500GB HDDs on ahci SB950
- 2x 3TB HDDs for freeNAS

I'm pretty set on LSI 9207 (8i or 4i4e... not sure yet)

I'm thinking about running freeNAS from Hyper-V on the above hardware.

Questions:
1) Would anyone see any caveats with my plan? Any conflicts or considerations?
2) Would this HBA run very hot, like megaRAID controllers? Should I get a fan underwear the heatsink on the board?
3) Does this HBA have any hook up for HDD LED so I can monitor the activity of drives connected to it?
4) If I start doing some partition backups from the mirrored HDDs on freeNAS to another partition on the same drives, would the transfer rate be only dependent on the drives speed and 1Gb network throughput? Or would there be any other considerations? Would it perhaps make more sense to keep more snapshots instead? The backups I can quickly mount and explore for missing/corrupt files. Not sure I can do that as easily with snapshots.

Thank you

Mlovelace

Guru