Freenas for noobs? I want something like Windows Home Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

tormi

Cadet
Hi guys!

My first post here. Have been reading throught the Noobie part of the forum and what I am looking for is a guide :) A guide for freenas noobies like myself.

My background:
Windows guy, have been using WHS 1 + 2 the last 3 years or so. Also I have a XBMC machine set up in the living room. My house has 1 server (soon running Freenas I hope), 2 laptops + 1 gaming rig + 1 HTPC (might be expanded by Apple TV or rasperry pi in the near future).
I have some but very little knowledge of FreeBSD server where I used to run some websites of earlier.

What I want from my Freenas (when I am going to start setting it up tomorrow) is as follows.

1. Beeing able to back up important files from my windows machines -> RSync will take care of this I have read. Is there any other solutions?
2. A place to store some of my videos + all my music
3. Logitech media server running on it.
4. Set it up with MySql as a centralized storage database for at least my XBMC database. (And maybe a website or two for intranet use...)

So first question, is this possible? Do you have any good suggestions on my way or any good links to provide me with?

So what next? I just learned about the ZFS filesystem today...

If I have understood correctly and please correct me if I am wrong. This FS will provide me with the opportunity to add for instance four harddrives with different sizes giving me a pool with the storage space of all of them combined. It also gives me the opportunity to have some of my files backed up to 2 harddrives preventing the most important documents with a double protection. This would sound like WHS v1 Drive Pooling technology.

Now I hope somebody can come along and help me out and confirm my information + give me some tips on the way.

Does the ZFS demand certain Motherbords or is this the requirements I need to fulfill:
Full ZFS
4GB Disk Space
6GB+ RAM