FreeNAS crashes

Status
Not open for further replies.

NiceTry

Explorer
I've been using FreeNAS for several years now with few problems. When I updated to 9.2.1.X, I started using minidlna. After a few tries, I got it all going and it worked great.

Recently NAS began to lock up and stop at random times. I added a cron job to reboot the system every day at 3AM and that helped for awhile. Now it stops in a few hours.

It sounds to me like a log file or some other log-type file is running out of room and crashing the system but I am not knowledgable enough to actually say. Are there files that can use up the USB resource? Is there a way to clean them out if that is the case?

I get no indication that the ZFS disks are having any trouble.

See the attached photos of the servers' screen when it crashes. Also note the rebooted screen that shows two jexecs executing the same minidlna command. Is that normal?

To address what I thought was a USB stick going senile, I replaced it with a 16GB stick (a "dd" copy). That seemed to help when the system first started acting up. Now I think the success of the USB replacement was a fluke and something else is going on.

Any hints/ideas/help appreciated.

FreeNAS-9.2.1.5-RELEASE-x64 (80c1d35)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4600 @ 2.40GHz
4GB RAM 4 1GB SATA disks in ZFS RaidZ

Attachments

• photo 1.JPG
    photo 1.JPG
    315.9 KB · Views: 225
  • photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    302.6 KB · Views: 231

gpsguy

You missed the obvious - you have ZFS running with 4Gb of RAM. For FreeNAS 9.x the minimum requirement is 8Gb, with 8.x it was 6Gb. I'm not surprised that you are having problems. Upgrade to 8 and see what happens.

As far as the USB flash drive size is concerned, 4Gb is adequate. FreeNAS only uses ~2Gb of space. Installing it on a larger stick won't help - the OS can't use the space, nor can you use it for other things.