FreeNAS 11 crashes suddenly

Status
Not open for further replies.

aeltegani

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I'm new to FreeNAS, I installed FreeNAS 11 a couple of weeks ago everything went fine, created datasets and created windows shares and started to dump files to it.

But the system crashes every once in a while, sometimes when I'm writing to the shared folder, sometimes when I'm running emby or plex on my xbox or my tv box, then I can't access the UI and the processor fan speed gets very high and I have to hard reset the box and starts it again.

Processor: AMD ryzen 5
Memory: 2x 8GB ECC memory
Samsung SSD 500GB
1x 4TB WD red
Asus prime motherboard

Support please..

Last edited by a moderator:

m0nkey_

MVP
Processor: AMD ryzen 5
Ryzen is a new platform, so it's not entirely implausible that it may be the cause. FreeNAS (and FreeBSD) are typically 6-12 months behind when it comes to newer hardware.

Other common issues for random crashes are a faulty PSU or bad RAM. Have you tested both the PSU and RAM?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
What are you using the 500GB SSD for?
Asus prime doesn't tell us anything about the system board except that it is a gaming board. What is the model number?

The fan being high makes it sound like it could be a thermal issue. Since this is a gaming rig, did you overclock it?

You may need to update the BIOS / UEFI as there have been updates to many of these systems due to how new they are.

Just because your processor and RAM both support ECC does not mean that they system board does.

aeltegani

Cadet
The model number is x-370-pro and it does support ECC.
I updated the BIOS when I bought it a couple of weeks ago.
I didn't overclock it.
I'm using the SSD for jails, I installed FreeNAS on a flash drive if that's what you are asking for.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
You setup a Jails dataset on the SSD and installed Emby and Plex.
You setup a media dataset on the HDD and copied over your media.