Freenas Build for editing video slow!

LUIGIVALTULINI

Dabbler
Hello everybody ,
I need help, I'm new with Freenas.
I built a server for a client, it is used for video editing.
I used a supermicro x9dri with 128gb of ram, 192tb 24 disks, nvme pci from 512gb samsung evo 970, 1 x520t2 10gbe intel.
I created 2 pools in raidz1. There are 5 MAc pro whit last mojave ,connected with related 10gbe cards all connected with Arista 10gbe switch.
The server works fine, I have about 700 mb / s read and write tested with BLackmagic disk speed.
Sharing is done with Samba.
I have a problem, when everyone starts editing movies with Adobe premiere the performance drops drastically.
Is this problem due to the little ram? 128gb not enough?
What could I do to increase performance?
Any useful advice?
I also tried different types of pools from raidz1 to 3 mirror with more pools .. but the result is always the same.

thanks
Luigi

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
If they are all accessing large files simultaniously, you are likely running into two problems. First, your pool may not have enough IO to satisfy that number of simultanious requests. That would be down to the pool layout. All the disks would need to be in a single pool instead of multiple pools and you would likely need to use mirror vdevs to have enough vdevs because vdevs roughly equate to IOPS. If you use 24 disks in mirror vdevs, it gives you 12 vdevs times the number of IOPS that a single disk can handle.
With the type of workload you have (large files) you are probably wasting the NVME drive, but you didn't say how you are using that.
The second IO limit you are probably hitting is the capacity of a single 10Gb NIC. With five clients, all accessing the system from 10Gb NICs, you could easily be fully saturating the single 10Gb NIC in the server. This would likely be a good place to use link aggregation on the server so it can have higher bandwidht, but that takes a switch that can also do link aggregation.

LUIGIVALTULINI