FreeNAS Box Disk Strategy

Status
Not open for further replies.

gabster

Explorer
Hi gang!

freeNAS newbie here.

So I am planning to build a new freeNAS box with five 3T drives, where two of them I already use in my Synology NAS (up to 90% capacity already). What's a proper strategy in this case?

1. Dump everything I have on the two drives somewhere else temporary until I set up the 5 raid box?
2. Keep everything on those two drives, add them to the other three, and install freeNAS on top? Will all data be erased?

thanks
g

Linkman

Patron
Move the data. All the data drives will be erased when FreeNAS builds the pool.

gabster

Explorer
Honestly - I wasn't thinking of any raid configurations as of yet. I was too taken up with the hardware.
But... why not RaidZ1, @Mirfster ?

thanks!

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
RaidZ1 is basically the same thing as traditional Raid5. So you only have 1 drive for redundancy. So say one drive does go bad and you replace it... Well as it is re-silvering there is a increased probability (mathematically due to drive sizes nowadays) that an second disk could fail during this. Well, then that means loss of the vDev. Which in turn means that ANY pool that vDev is a member of (whether it is just a pool made from one vDev or a pool made of 100 vDevs) is toast...

There are tons of threads where it is NOT recommended (just search for "RaidZ1"). This is a link @cyberjock keeps in his signature called RAID5/RAIDZ1 is dead. As well, if you look at cyberjock's Slideshow explaining VDev, zpool, ZIL and L2ARC for noobs! you will see mention of it there as well. Overall, it is not a good idea; especially with today's hard drive sizes.

gabster

Explorer
Ouch -
RaidZ1 hurts indeed.
So, considering that I am after maximizing speed and storage performance (working in video editing) what would be my options with 5x 3Tb disks?

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about