SOLVED FreeNAS as a VM - Raid controller pass-through hanging ?? (LSI-9240 8i)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Previse

Cadet
Hi all,
I'm new to FreeNAS. I've got an LSI 9240-8i Raid controller that is setup with Raid 5.

I've got ESXi installed on an SSD for my server box and have my vm's located there. I have FreeNAS 9.3.1 installed as well, and it boots/installs fine if the passthrough isn't enabled, but if passthrough is added via settings (Direct pass-through of the raid controller) it hangs on the following screen.

http://i.imgur.com/XKdAXrr.png

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Last edited:

m0nkey_

MVP
Wait. What?! Why are you using pfSense documentation for setting up FreeNAS? They're two entirely different products! Secondly, you are using a RAID controller? Flash that to IT mode then use VT-d to pass through to the FreeNAS VM. Then at least FreeNAS will have a fighting chance of actually working.

Previse

Cadet
Wait. What?! Why are you using pfSense documentation for setting up FreeNAS? They're two entirely different products! Secondly, you are using a RAID controller? Flash that to IT mode then use VT-d to pass through to the FreeNAS VM. Then at least FreeNAS will have a fighting chance of actually working.
LOL! I'm completely out of it tonight. Assumed i was looking at something else, eitherway - That was removed.

Also, what IT mode firmware would i go about using?

EDIT: After reading http://www.servethehome.com/ibm-serveraid-m1015-part-4/, i can see it's for official LSI Megaraid controllers. Going to give it a try now

Last edited:

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
LSI 9240-8i
Correct me if I am wrong, but I do not think this card can be cross-flashed...

If you are trying to install FreeNas as a VM, then I suggest you do some searching on these forums as to why this is NOT a good idea for important data; unless you really, really, I mean REALLY know what you are doing.

Previse

Cadet