Freenas 9.2 jail migration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diesel7926

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I really need some help, I think I am in over my head, I had setup and been using Freenas 8.3 for about year and a half now and everything worked awesome, I had Sabnzbd and Sickbeard setup and the automation was awesome! This morning I read that Plex had been added to the plugins and got excited and decided to update to Freenas 9.2, Everything went great with the upgrade but I can't figure out how to migrate the Jail to 9x. Please help, when I go to shell and type in the script command I get no such file or directory? I am not very good with unix commands but can follow directions, I must be doing something wrong can somebody help me out.

Thanks, Ryan

Diesel7926

Cadet
I have tried everything I can think of, here is what I get when I open a shell command and try to migrate my jail:
[root@freenas ~]# /root/migrate_pluginjail.sh -D
bash: /root/migrate_pluginjail.sh: No such file or directory
bash: /root/migrate_pluginjail.sh: No such file or directo

D

dlavigne

That migration script never worked well and was removed in 9.2.0. When it comes to jails, because of the ABI differences between 8.x and 9.x, it is best to reinstall the apps after upgrading FreeNAS. Since all of the apps you mentioned are available as Plugins, you should just be able to install these apps as needed. You will however, have to recreate any mount points and configs.

Plugins changed significantly between 8.x and 9.x so it is recommended to skim through both of those chapters in the Guide for the 9.x version of FreeNAS you are running. This will give you a basic idea of the differences between Plugins and Jails and whether or not you can do everything you need using Plugins or if you will also need to create some of your own jails.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I thought I had convinced you in IRC Diesel... :(

Diesel7926

Cadet
I thought I had convinced you in IRC Diesel... :(