FreeNAS 11 crash during write

Status
Not open for further replies.

cchr82

Dabbler
I'm extremely new to FreeNAS and just set up a new NAS. I am trying to back up all of my data to my system, but after a few hours of writing to my storage pool FreeNAS appears to crash, shutdown, and all I can see is a black screen. It requires me to physically restart the computer.

I have tried looking for some answers but most of the references I found for this issue were with users using < 2 GB of RAM on FreeNAS versions << 11.

As I am new, I really have no idea how to debug this issue or solve it and any suggestions would be useful.

Based on my initial tests I do not think it is an issue with bad memory sticks or CPU overheating? The following are the tests I performed:

1) memory test -> ran memtest - no errors
2) CPU stress test -> ran prime95 test for 12 hours on all threads - no issues and computer did not crash or restart
3) reinstalled FreeNAS on new flash drives
4) I don't seem to see any errors from smart tests (only performed short ones right now)

The following summarizes my system:
1. 6x4TB HDD setup in raidz2
2. 16 GB RAM (I assumed I only need 1 GB RAM per effective memory in pool (~14TB)?)
3. boot drive is installed on two mirrored Sandisk 16GB ultra fit flash drives (again, i have tried this with multiple installs to new flash drives, same issue)
4. Data is being copied from an external HDD directly attached to the NAS. Shutdown does not seem to display any error message and I cannot predict when it will fail, usually within 1-2 hours of writing.

Last edited by a moderator:

wblock

Documentation Engineer
Please identify the rest of the hardware: motherboard, processor, power supply, exact type of RAM. How is the external drive connected to the NAS? What type of filesystem is on the external drive?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Still need more information on the hardware, but