Fixing The "Strict-Transport-Security" HTTP header is not set to at least "15552000" seconds.

gden

Cadet
I am new to Truenas Scale. This is my first time setting up a server. I am using Nextcloud and have managed to access it remotely and securely using Traefik and Cloudflared. However, when I login to Nextcloud and check the Overview tab, I get the The "Strict-Transport-Security" HTTP header is not set to at least "15552000" seconds statement. For enhanced security, it is recommended to enable HSTS as described in the security tips ↗

On the Nextcloud documentation page it says -

Redirect all unencrypted traffic to HTTPS

To redirect all HTTP traffic to HTTPS administrators are encouraged to issue a permanent redirect using the 301 status code. When using Apache this can be achieved by a setting such as the following in the Apache VirtualHosts configuration:

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName cloud.nextcloud.com
Redirect permanent / https://cloud.nextcloud.com/
</VirtualHost>

Enable HTTP Strict Transport Security

While redirecting all traffic to HTTPS is good, it may not completely prevent man-in-the-middle attacks. Thus administrators are encouraged to set the HTTP Strict Transport Security header, which instructs browsers to not allow any connection to the Nextcloud instance using HTTP, and it attempts to prevent site visitors from bypassing invalid certificate warnings.

This can be achieved by setting the following settings within the Apache VirtualHost file:

<VirtualHost *:443>
ServerName cloud.nextcloud.com
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header always set Strict-Transport-Security "max-age=15552000; includeSubDomains"
</IfModule>
</VirtualHost>

Warning