First time FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

iliak

Contributor
hi,
im new to the storage part of DevOps (a new responsibility at my work place)

we should receive a server that will be mostly used as read intensive jobs (approx 30-40 Gbs ) will be connected with 40gb network

we need to make 2 shared storage's :
1. 80% of the capacity to store the data files (the clients will read them)
2. 20% of the capacity as temporary scratch location( the output of the clients will be stored here for total time of one week)

what is the best configuration to do so
the reads are very have approx 30-40 Gbs (at peaks) up to 1k iops
the write are up to 1Gbs

i thought of making raid 5 (using all the 8 ssds), and make two volumes one for each.

this is not for production (that why 1 hdd fail should be enough)

what do you think?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

iliak

Contributor
HW for the server:
SuperMicro Server 1U 1027R-72BRFTP W/ 2 X E5- 2630v2 CPU's 64GB & 8x800gb ssd sas
Mellanox ConnectX-3 40Gigabit

i think the ssds are sandisk Optimus Extreme™ SAS SSDs (or something similar)

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
we should receive a server that will be mostly used as read intensive jobs (approx 30-40 Gbs ) will be connected with 40gb network
From the way you describe this, I am guessing that it is already ordered and on the way. That is really a bit of a bad deal because it might not even be hardware that is compatible with FreeNAS and the ZFS file system.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
HW for the server:
SuperMicro Server 1U 1027R-72BRFTP W/ 2 X E5- 2630v2 CPU's 64GB & 8x800gb ssd sas
Mellanox ConnectX-3 40Gigabit

i think the ssds are sandisk Optimus Extreme™ SAS SSDs (or something similar)
That is all fine, but we also need to know what drive controller is being used to access those SAS SSDs and it might be nice to know what you plan to use for the boot pool.

iliak

Contributor