First-time builds, with some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

kangwenhao

Cadet
Hi, this is my first time building a NAS (I've built a gaming PC before, but nothing server-related), so I'm a little nervous, and I've got some questions.

I currently have about 10 TB across several external hard drives (videos, game backups, pdfs, all sorts of stuff), with no backup or redundancy, and no good streaming/filesharing capabilities. I'd like to move to a FreeNAS server with plenty of room to spare, so I'm thinking 8x4TB, with two disk redundancy, which should leave me with 24 TB (did I do that math right?). Hopefully this will last me a good decade or more. I would like the ability to transcode Plex streams to at least two devices at once (more would be nice, but not essential).

Following the hardware recommendations, I looked at the Supermicro X10SL7-F, which would give me plenty of room for 8 drives + an SSD for the OS, but it maxes out at 32 GB of RAM, which is the bare minimum for a server of this size (1 GB per TB, right?), and I'm a bit worried about starting out at the maximum, with no room to expand. I also looked at the Supermicro X11SSL-cF, which offers the same number of ports, but with 64 GB max RAM, but it's over $400, compared to ~$200 for all the other parts I've looked at. So that left me with two options, as below:

Option 1:
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSM-F-O Micro ATX
CPU: Intel Core i3-6300
RAM: 2x Crucial 16GB DDR4-2133 ECC

OR, Option 2:
Motherboard: Supermicro X10SRL-F
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2603 V4
RAM: 2x Crucial 16GB DDR4-2133 Registered ECC

Either way, I'd also be including:
Case: Fractal Design Define R5
PSU: SeaSonic G Series 550W 80+ Gold Semi-Modular
CPU fan: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
HDDs: 8x WD Red 4TB NAS 5400 RPM