First Production Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zredwire

Explorer
I am new to Freenas as well as new to the forums. First I would like to say these forums have been invaluable! Thanks for all you guys who post guides and respond to questions. Anyway I needed a new NAS at home and came across Freenas. I set it up on a test box (no ECC ram, Sync turned off, etc.) and it is great and exactly what I am looking for. So I decided to build a low cost, decent, production system for home. Here is what I have:

FreeNAS 11.0-U4
HPE ML10 v9/ Pent. G4400 / 12GB DDR4 2133 ECC
Chelsio PCIe Dual SFP+ 10GBE
Intel PCIe quad port 1GB
Dell PERC H310 PCIE Controller
Pool: 6 x 3TB Mirror (4x WD Red, 2x Seagate IronWolf)
SLOG: Intel S3700 100GB
Boot: Dual PNY Turbo 32GB USB

The first thing you probably notice is I have 7 drives in a case made for 6. This is true. It happened because I purchased parts over 6 weeks and the project grew during that time, lol. Anyway I can mod the case a tad to make it work fine. A new case will probably be a purchase next year.
Use case. This will be the main storage for my home. It will have a couple of SMB shares for Windows and it will be the back end storage for my ESXI (v. 6.5) server. I have used ISCSI some in the past but I really like and prefer NFS shares for the ESXI storage. With that in mind I plan to set up Mirrors and use a SLOG.

So I have a couple of questions:

1) My original plan was to hook all the hard drives up to the on board SATA connectors and hook the SLOG to the H310 controller. After reading some threads about how many on board SATA chips are inferior to dedicated HBA controllers, would it be better for me to hook all the drives to the H310?

2) On the SLOG I have read different post about how some people partition a small amount for Freenas to use and some people don't worry with it and let Freenas use all of it. As far as write leveling does it matter? If so, how do I partition a small amount for Freenas to use?