First FreeNAS and some ZFS/RAID questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Unas

Cadet
Hi comm,

i'm new to FreeNAS/FreeBSD and i have some questions mainly regarding the ZFS Filesystem and RAIDZ2/1 and i would be really glad if you guys could help me out here.

First of all here's the hardware i'm planning to get:

Fractal Design Define R4
Asus P8B75-M LX Plus
Intel Core i3-2120T
be quiet! Straight Power E9 480W CM
2x G.Skill DIMM 8 GB DDR3-1600
Kingston SSDNow V300 2,5" SSD 60 GB
4x Seagate ST3000DM001 3 TB

Anything wrong with that? if not here are my questions:

I'm planning on using this setup for a RAIDZ2.
1. Is the system memory enough or i would i be better off using RAID5/6?
2. Is there any other downside of installing FreeNAS onto a SSD besides the "waste" of one HDD Slot?
3. I'm planning to add 4 more HDDs later on. Is this possible?
4. If not, is it possible with a RAID5 or RAIDZ1?
5. Is there a sabnzbd Plugin for FreeNAS?

Thanks a lot!

warri

Guru
1. Yes, the system looks totally fine.
2. Also you are wasting the SSD capabilities, FreeNAS is loaded into RAM on startup (so apart from writing config changes there is no access to the SSD at all).
3. Yes, you can either add a second, separate zpool, e.g. as RAIDZ1/2 or add a second vdev to the existing pool. See also http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Volumes#Extending_a_ZFS_Volume
4. RAIDZ1 behaves basically like RAIDZ2. I don't have any experience with RAID5 though.
5. Yes, I think I saw it somewhere in the plugins section of this forum.

Unas

Cadet
Thank you!

2. Also you are wasting the SSD capabilities, FreeNAS is loaded into RAM on startup (so apart from writing config changes there is no access to the SSD at all).
Oh, okay. It's indeed useless then. I read about using SSDs as ZIL/L2ARC device. Could you elabarote a little bit on that? Or link me somewhere where those two things are explained?