Files are visible only via SSH as root

yotam777

Cadet
Hi,
I'm kinda new with all the TrueNAS permission system.
I have TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.2.
I'm trying to copy files from a remote windows pc (Tried both Cobian reflector and Duplicati) both apps connected via ssh (with a username i created "yotam" not "root")
I cant see the files from the SMB share, Also files arn't visible from the shell - They are visible only when connected with ssh as root.
As far as i know all the permission set as expected, I'll add some pictures of the permissions.
folder: /mnt/Yotam-Storage/Server-Backup

* SSH connection with root user
1684492171253.png

* ACL permission from the GUI:
1684492290463.png

* Permission from the SHELL:
1684492346281.png

* folder also "empty" from the shell side:
1684492377701.png

I'm probably doing something wrong with the permission but I cant tell what exactly.
I have more SMB shares working just fine, the problem started when tried to copy files with ssh from a remote pc (looks like the ssh sets its own permissions)
If you need anymore data please ask I might missed something.
Thanks

2twisty

Contributor
Are the files inside Server-Backup set to yotam:MyFamily? Might need to do a "chown -R yotam:MyFamily /mnt/Yotam-Storage/Backup/Server-Backup"

Also what are the settings for the SMB share itself?

yotam777

Cadet
Hi 2twisty,
Thanks for the help.
I tried "chown -R yotam:MyFamily /mnt/Yotam-Storage/Backup/Server-Backup" looks ok no error but nothing happened (tried to restart the SMB service)
The "Backup" SMB share looks like this:
1685117071321.png

* By the way, If I'll copy any file through the windows file explorer from a remote PC (Connected with SSHFS tool) it will work as expected. The problem starts when trying to use 3rd party app.

2twisty

Contributor
Are you connecting to the SMB share as a specific user or as guest?

Is the machine you're connecting from Windows or *nix? If *nix, what config options are you using / what's in the fstab entry?