Fact check myself on recent/near future ZFS and TrueNAS developments

haowenl

Dabbler
I'm a newbie in the TrueNAS world, and I would like to fact-check (idiot-proof) myself on some recent and near future features.

1. ZFS 2.1.0 and TrueNAS Cobia brings dRAID to the picture. According to ZFS dRAID docs, I got the impression that it has faster resilvering while maintaining roughly the same level of redundancy and performance as RAIDz. In that case, if I'm setting up a new system, is there any reason to go for RAIDz1 instead of dRAID1?
2. I'm currently setting my vdev and pool with the next 2 years of storage need in mind. That said, in two years, I might need to add one or two new drives to the dRAID1/RAIDz1 vdev. I see that the ability to expand a RAIDz vdev with more disks has been merged into ZFS master although not yet released. Given the current ZFS and TrueNAS release schedule (ZFS release schedule is what I'm not sure about), is it a reasonable expectation that the feature would land in TrueNAS in two years (Q1 of 2026)? To rephrase it, what's the chance for that feature to land in the next two releases, if not the very next release, of TrueNAS?
3. Related to both 1 and 2, I understand that the vdev expansion commit clearly says "raidz expansion", does it work with/apply to dRAID as well? I see changes to `vdev_draid.c` in that patch, so I'm assuming it works with both dRAID and RAIDz. Is that a correct interpretation?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
In that case, if I'm setting up a new system, is there any reason to go for RAIDz1 instead of dRAID1?
Unless you have a ton of disks (meaning at least two vdevs' worth) DRAID is strictly worse than RAIDZ, because it imposes limitations not found in RAIDZ, most notably all stripes are full width, so space efficiency will suffer with small files, to the point that a dedicated Special vdev is recommended if you go with DRAID. You also get no benefits in a single vdev.