External access to FreeNAS 11.0 VM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trinity

Cadet
Hi guys,

I am a FreeNAS noob, and my Google-fu keeps turning up solutions to other types of problems so I'm left posting here for help.

Current Status
: I was able to install Centos 7 onto FreeNAS 11.0 and access it using VNC on port 5901 no problemo.

My goal: I want to run a few Linux VMs on my FreeNAS box (its a beefy machine) and I want to ssh directly into those VMs from my workstation, but I cannot find a way configuring it.

My problem: I can't find a setting to connect port 22 (or any other port) that my Centos VM is listening on to the outside network so my Workstation in another room can directly connect to the VM.

Additional information if it helps:
  1. I would like to eventually have a few VM's running various web services on my FreeNAS box (eg Gitlab etc) so my question isn't limited to only port 22.
  2. My FreeNAS server has 4 physical NIC's and the FreeNAS GUI responds on all of them at port 80.
  3. Whenever I try to setup an Interface on the FreeNAS GUI, I lose all connection, so I never touched that again.
  4. I thought setting them up as VMs would be simpler than running my web services as Docker containers, however if Docker is simpler to achieve my purpose, I don't mind taking that approach for now.
  5. I only have one physical server and I rather run FreeNAS on the metal because the data it is also holding is incredibly valuable to me so I wouldn't virtualize FreeNAS.

Thoughts?

scrappy

Patron