Expand 3 disks to 4 disks and increase size by first creating a mirror?

dtww

Cadet
Hi

I am new to TrueNAS and appreciate confirmation of the following, having read a number of messages on this topic.

I started with 3 8TB disks primarily as a trial. I want to expand it by 1 disk, total 4 disks (2 disk fault tolerance). Data is personal and family stuff - when this includes decades of photos, it gets "costly" if lost. Yes, I know the importance of backup which is not the primary aim of RAIDZ. Backup is taken care of.

Current - see pics below.
3 x 8TB
No "mirror"

Upgraded
4 x 10TB
Mirror (also 4 x 10TB)

What I think I should do (that works!) is, with questions:
  • create second vdev with 4 x 10TB
  • copy data in current pool to the 4x10TB vdev
    • question: is this zfs send? or copy?
    • what's the difference between send / copy, and setting vdev as mirror?
  • how to I "switch over" primary vdev to this 4x10TB?
    • remove / offline the 3x8TB disks?
    • this is purely theoretical - what if: I now have the 4x10 vdev as "primary", and then I have the first vdev back in and online, wouldn't the system treat that as primary?
    • Might not be "theoretical", because if I happen to put the 3x8TB disk sets back in, thinking of making that as a "second" vdev, wouldn't the system treat that as "primary"?
  • to create the mirror vdev, I could have the existing 3x8TB disks and add a 4th disk which is 10TB. I think I don't need this vdev the same number of disks as the pimary vdev, correct? The thinking is that the 3x8TB disks are new (newly bought) so why not keep them online till they expire...
Thanks for clarification.
David

1693343421135.png

1693344844122.png

dtww

Cadet