ESXi Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

LIGISTX

Guru
So I am somewhat frustrated with that state of jails and bhyve, but am pretty happy with FreeNAS itself. Granted, I am a super noob level user and that may be the actual issue. But that being said, I was able to setup a vpn on a raspberry pi in next to no time, and have still never successfully got one working in a FreeNAS jail.

Point is, I am really considering running FreeNAS and other guests under ESXi, although, being the noob I am, I have never done this. Thus, questions...

I understand I will want more RAM, and possible even a Xeon over the i3 I have now. These are easily addressable issues if I pursue this path. But what I currently am unsure about is how to pass hdd’s through ESXi to FreeNAS. Do you have to pass an entire controller, or can you pass specific drives? I currently have a HBA with 2 mini SAS going to 8 SATA, but I use a couple of my mobo’s sata ports as well for my FreeNAS pool. I plan to run my current 4tbx10 vdev for FreeNAS, and a couple SSD’s for various guests under ESXi. With my current hardware I would have to utilize the HBA for FreeNAS pool and the mobo controller for FreeNAS pool + other guests. Is this possible? If not, recommendations?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

silverback

Contributor
I don't think any motherboard ports can be passed through unless it is an onboard HBA. So you will probably need another HBA to passthrough more than 8 disks.
Is it not possible for you to run a VPN on your firewall/router?

LIGISTX

Guru
I don't think any motherboard ports can be passed through unless it is an onboard HBA. So you will probably need another HBA to passthrough more than 8 disks.
Is it not possible for you to run a VPN on your firewall/router?

I don’t remember what the mobo has off hand, but it’s a server chipset. Not sure if that is “an HBA though”.