Error Getting Available Space

Status
Not open for further replies.

wachen

Dabbler
Hi all,
I am running 8.3.0-Release-x64 with 5x1TB RAIDZ1.

I was in the process of replacing the 1TB drives with 2TB drives by following instructions of "Replacing Drives to Grow ZFS Pool" section in the manual.

Replacing the first disk was successful. The resilvering took about 4 hours.

But after I took the 2nd disk offline, shut down the system and replace it with a 2TB drive, I am now getting "Error getting available space" message under the Storage tab in the GUI. When I look at Volume Status all I am getting is "Sorry, an error occurred".

I am a noob at this. So, any help is greatly appreciated.

Warren

wachen

Dabbler
I did some further search and found a thread discussing similar problem. The solution was to upgrade to 9.2.

I will go ahead and do this. My question though is this:
With 1 disk offline, can I still do a fresh install of 9.2.1.1 and do "Auto Import Volume" after the fresh install?
Can I do an upgrade install via GUI with 1 disk offline?
If not, is there a way to bring the same offline disk back online and do the install afterwards?

Again, any help is greatly appreciated.

Warren

cyberjock

Inactive Account
What thread said the solution was to upgrade to 9.2. I'm unaware of ANY bug that is anything remotely as serious as what you are claiming.

The fact that it says error getting available space means your pool isn't mounting. So that begs the question of "why". Either you just lost your pool for some reason, or you've got a disk accidentally unplugged, wrong disk pulled, etc and all you need to do is get enough devices attached to get the pool to mount.

Can you post the output of "zpool import", "zpool status" , "cancontrol devlist" in pastebin please?

And don't upgrade or anything yet. You are in a seriously bad way if the pool isn't mounting and your drives ARE all attached.

wachen

Dabbler
Cyberjock,
Thanks for the reply.