Encryption state of the art

Pestaninha

Dabbler
Hi,
I've been using full disk encryption for a long time, since 2009 IIRC... When I first started out with FreeNAS, that is one feature I turned on right out of the bat and I've had my sweats with it over the years but, ultimately, no regrets.
Right now, I'm in a bind. I've upgraded to TrueNAS and lost the ability to create GELI encrypted drives. I'm also unable (at least so far) to move my GELI encrypted data into an encrypted ZFS pool (tried several methods and read up on a lot of winnielinnie's posts (kudos for those, hope to be able to buy you a beer someday!)). To make matters worse, I don't really want to move my data to ZFS encrypted pools as they don't offer full disk encryption. I also have a failsafe plan, with encryption keys and recovery keys which don't seem to work on this new method of encryption.
Is this going to be the only encryption that TrueNAS will offer to the users, making those of us that really want to use full disk encryption to be forced to purchase the more expensive self encrypting drives? Is there any deprecation notice on GELI (I couldn't find one) that forced the hand on this change? Are there any plans to fully discontinue the support for GELI in TrueNAS? Are there any plans to support some other suite of full disk encryption in the future, such as LUKS?
At this point, I'm considering using GELI for the foreseeable future, but I'm not sure if I'm not delaying my problem just for a couple of months more :D

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity

GELI is deprecated, due to its fragility and UI gotchas that resulted in data loss for too many TruNAS/FreeNAS users.

SEDs are the only way forward for full-disk encryption.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity

Pestaninha

Dabbler

GELI is deprecated, due to its fragility and UI gotchas that resulted in data loss for too many TruNAS/FreeNAS users.

SEDs are the only way forward for full-disk encryption.