Encrypted ZFS dataset - How to auto-mount on system start up?

axrusar

Dabbler
Hello guys.
I have a small home server and i created a ZFS dataset with encryption on where i intend to store my important and private data.
Every time the system reboots, i have to manually type the passphrase for the encrypted dataset with the following command:
zfs mount -l -a

I am pretty new to ZFS, using this for the first time. So far so good but i can't find any info on how to automate this process..
all the manuals i found so far refer to standard ZFS datasets but no encryption mentioned anywhere..
I live in an area with very heavy thunderstorms during the summer months and the power goes off every now and then.
I will be traveling and i need the server to be available with all the data in case it reboots due to a power failure.

Running on Debian 11 kernel 5.15.35-3

Thank you for any tips!!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Every time the system reboots, i have to manually type the passphrase for the encrypted dataset with the following command
That's how passphrase encryption works (although you can also use the GUI for that too... maybe you're only running debian and not TrueNAS SCALE... which opens the question, "what are you doing asking for help here?").

all the manuals i found so far refer to standard ZFS datasets but no encryption mentioned anywhere..
You can't have been looking very hard... https://www.truenas.com/docs/scale/scaleuireference/storage/pools/encryptionscale/

I live in an area with very heavy thunderstorms during the summer months and the power goes off every now and then.
Buy a UPS if you don't want to lose your data.

I will be traveling and i need the server to be available with all the data in case it reboots due to a power failure.
UPS and consider what it is that you expect "encryption" is doing for you.