Ejecting an Unused disk

rpc

Cadet
Hello,

I am new to FreeNAS. We have a setup as follows:

2 x SATA DOMs for the FreeNAS OS (mirrored)
12 x WD Red Pro Disks (9 in use as 3 volumes)
2 x Intel SSD Disks (used for Write caching)

Last weekend we turned off the system so we can add 3 additional disks (going from 9 to 12). However, we did not assign volumes yet, so the 3 new disks are not in use.
A week later, we get a critical alert email from FreeNAS that one of the new disks has unreadable / uncorrectable sectors. I would like to pull this disk out so I can RMA it.

My question is: Do we need to shut down FreeNAS in order to pull out an used disk? There are not any options in the GUI to "eject" it. If the answer is "No", what needs to be done before pulling the drive, and can we insert the replacement disk also without shutting down first?

Thank you.

Mlovelace

Guru
Hello,

I am new to FreeNAS. We have a setup as follows:

2 x SATA DOMs for the FreeNAS OS (mirrored)
12 x WD Red Pro Disks (9 in use as 3 volumes)
2 x Intel SSD Disks (used for Write caching)

Last weekend we turned off the system so we can add 3 additional disks (going from 9 to 12). However, we did not assign volumes yet, so the 3 new disks are not in use.
A week later, we get a critical alert email from FreeNAS that one of the new disks has unreadable / uncorrectable sectors. I would like to pull this disk out so I can RMA it.

My question is: Do we need to shut down FreeNAS in order to pull out an used disk? There are not any options in the GUI to "eject" it. If the answer is "No", what needs to be done before pulling the drive, and can we insert the replacement disk also without shutting down first?

Thank you.
The instructions for replacing a failed drive are very straight forward, if your hardware supports hotswap you won't need to restart. Here is a link for drive replacement. https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.2/storage.html#replacing-a-failed-disk

rpc

Cadet