Does my use case fit TrueNAS?

paulca

Cadet
I have run a custom bare metal Linux server for 20 years. The first 5 years of those were custom "Linux From Scratch" builds. Then the urge to be that hands on dwindled. So I used Gentoo, and now just Ubuntu.

I am also an enterprise software developer in the day time. I like to avoid evening work caused by home network failures. So I have kept things simple. Samba and NFS exports for:

/homes
/storage

Each user (me mostly) gets a home folder and the bulk storage location.

Empowered with dockerizing and k8s'ing application stacks in work, I started moving all my services into docker. dhcp, dns, zigbee, mqtt etc. etc. etc. This much aided me well when I had a live "/" rootfs incident. I can't honestly remember if it was a mistake, a power bouncing or a hardware fault. I lost the root FS. However, I installed Ubuntu, checked all the docker-compose meta data out of gitlab, the databases out of backups and managed to reconfigure and bring a brand new server up in about an hour.

This then has been working on an old doorstop, dust collector:

Dell Optiplex 7010 i7-4790, 16Gb with 2 internal SSDs and a 5 bay USB3-SATA enclosure with the bulk HDD and backup drives.

A few things have spoilt the simplicity. The bulk storage over flowed a 6Tb drive last year and I'm not prepared to go to a 8/10/12Tb, so I bought another 6Tb. This creates annoying "split file system" issues.

Then I had a rather more painful /home partial partition loss. Aka an SSD died in service, went read-only but not cleanly enough to stop a bunch of corruption and unreadable sectors.