DIY rack mounted NAS/SAN

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all.
We are a small graphic/video editing company and, as the title states, I'm in the process of building a NAS/SAN server.We are editing HD video files directly from the server so we already have a 8Gb fiber channel "LAN".

My intention is to build a 20+ Tb RAID5 storage which can be accessed simultaneously by 8 video editing workstations thru the fiber channel link for online video editing.
Now, I was thinking of 8/12 3,5" hot swappable bays rack mounted case with 3TB SEAGATE BARRACUDA ST3000DM001 hard drives; 16 Gb RAM; 2 Intel Xeon CPUs.
Power consumption is not a problem.
As for the budget, I'm trying to stay as low as possible, maintaining high the performances.

As this is my first time trying a build like this, I have some questions:
1) What Mother Board should I use? I'm not interested in mini-ITX as the form factor is not a problem and I need 2 Ethernet slots and at least 3 PCIe expansion slots for installing the fiber channel network adapter, the SATA expansion card and the 2-Port Ethernet Card(although I didn't fully understand why I need 4 cat-5 cables connected to the LAN network....someone can explain better, please?)

2) Because the NAS would be accessed by multiple users at the same time, I'm going dual CPU's.What should i look for?

3) Do you have any case recommendation?

4) in terms of PSU should i go dual PSU or maintain 1 big (1000W+) unit? I already have the entire rack on UPS so power blackout should not be a problem.

5) does the FreeNAS software by itself do it, or i need to install Linux?

If you have any questions, I'm here to answer them.
If there is anybody with fiber channel NAS experience, I would gladly want to hear his opinion/suggestion.

cheers,
Cristian.

P.s. As English is not my native language, I would like to excuse in advance for the spelling errors.

cyberjock

Inactive Account