Disk Failure in 8.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdyb0815

Cadet
I just upgraded from older version to 8.3 a few days ago and everything has been working great. I had a zpool with 5 2 TB disks (4 active and 1 spare). It appears this morning that one of the drives has failed. I can see my Volume listed but cannot get a status. Also, I can view 4 disks (3 of which are member of media stripe and 1 is member of media spare), but i cannot access data. Can anyone advise on how to promote the spare to active and if that is the correct course of action?

I'm a bit of a noob so looking for some advice so i don't lose my data.

Thanks.

tdyb0815

Cadet
I powered off, and put the disk back in and now it works again. But I'm sure the drive is on the verge of going bad (it has happened this way before). Trying to offline the bad disk but i keep getting the "cannot offline no valid replicas" message. Even after scrubbing the volume. Any ideas on how to offline the disk?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
If you are getting the error that you cannot offline because there are no valid replicas you likely don't have a zpool capable of disk failure.

Can you put the output of 'zpool status' and put it in code tags please.

tdyb0815

Cadet
If you are getting the error that you cannot offline because there are no valid replicas you likely don't have a zpool capable of disk failure.

Can you put the output of 'zpool status' and put it in code tags please.

pool: Media
state: ONLINE
scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h27m with 0 errors on Tue Jan 15 08:25:22 2013
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
Media ONLINE 0 0 0
ada0p2 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada1p2 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada2p2 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada3p2 ONLINE 0 0 0
spares
ada4p2 AVAIL

errors: No known data errors

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yeah, it looks like you have no redundancy from a disk failure. That spare disk is useless for you. If a disk fails the spare won't save you.. you'll just lose all of your data.