Disaster Recovery & Planning Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott McCarthy

Dabbler
I am fairly new to FreeNas and have a question about disaster recovery and the best way to setup the NAS, etc. I have read through the hardware requirements and setup recommendations but would like to get some real world feedback so we can properly prepare.

My questions are below. I would like to thank everyone in advance who answers. I also plan to write DR guide for FreeNAS and share it freely:

1. What is the best way to setup the boot drives? Will two SSDs mirrored work? I noticed FreeNAS doesn't recommend RAID cards so can the boot drives be mirrored by FreeNAS in the event one of the boot drives fails? I plan to use at least 4 data drives for the software data RAID set.

2. In theory, if you lost your boot drives but had your data drives, I am guessing you can install FreeNAS again and restore the config file to get going again. Is there anyway to restore the system if you lose the boot drives and don't have a config file or are you just screwed?

3. Is there anyway to program the system to save a config file to a network location everyday or on a pre-set time instead of having to save manually?

4. If you lose a boot drive or data drive, does FreeNAS notify you? If so, is it simply a matter of shutting the system down, replacing the drive and telling the system to re-sync with the replaced drive? Is there a document or documented procedure on how to replace a failed drive?

I just want to make sure I know exactly what to do if I ever lose the boot drive or a mirrored or software RAIDED drive in the data drive set. I thank you in advance for any information you can provide!

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
1. It depends. Yes.

2. Yes. No config backup = no config backup. But seriously, it's just a small file so you can backup it really easily ;)

3. No, but you can always setup a cron task to do it.