Dell T5500 build and shutting down overnight

Status
Not open for further replies.

pfft

Cadet
Hi everyone,

Apologies in advance for the long post.

I'm contemplating a FreeNAS build and was hoping I could get a sanity check as well as opinions/answers on a couple of specific questions.

This will be for a lightly used home NAS (and perhaps media server, offsite syncing, etc), with a few terabytes of capacity. FreeNAS seems to be overkill in many ways, for my needs, but I want protection against bitrot (I've had some experience of this in the past). I would also like disk failures to be relatively pain-free but off-site backups on removable drives are still my main protection. An alternative would be btrfs on Linux (which is particularly tempting as I use Linux widely on my "real computers") but I'm concerned that btrfs doesn't seem nearly as mature as ZFS on FreeBSD.

I have a workstation that is spare which I can use for this project: Dell T5500 with one Xeon E5645 and 24GB of ECC RAM. I have removed the Dell PCIe SAS RAID controller and verified that all 5 on-board SATA ports work (for boot and under Linux). It has two spots for 3.5in HDDs and I should be able to mount up to two more in the 5.25in bays with adapters. There is also an internal 3.5in bay which should be fine for an SSD boot drive but I don't think I can mount a spinning drive there without excessive vibration (at least, not without some special bracket or part that I don't have). PSU is the Dell OEM one, I believe rated at 875w.

I appreciate that this may not be the ideal machine for the task but I'm not likely to buy an entire new machine for this project while this one is unused, and I believe it satisfies the main requirements for FreeNAS.

I'll be encrypting my data (the CPU purports to have AES-NI) - I don't need properly high security (anti-tamper/etc) but I don't want a random hardware thief to get my data.