Dell R720XD does not recognize H310 (full size) as a boot option

MR5Fhd

Cadet
Hello

This is my first time setting up a FreeNAS/TrueNAS. I run into a weird issue that I cannot find answers anywhere.

My hardware:
Dell PowerEdge R720XD chassis
2x Intel Xeon E5 2667 v2
256GB of RAM
12x 4TB SAS at front, 1x Samsung SSD at rear flex.
1x H310 mini mono
1x H310 Full size

Everything else is just basic R720XD hardware (I believe it's 12th gen).

My problem is that the the system does not allow me to boot from H310 Full size.

Background:

I purchased this server not only for FreeNAS/TrueNAS, but also for virtualization on Proxmox. The plan is to install Proxmox on the one SSD at rear flex and run a FreeNAS VM. And then pass the front 12 SAS drives to the FreeNAS VM. I specifically picked this CPU because it has the highest frequency among the same generation. So it is very useful for a lot of other virtualization tasks besides FreeNAS.

You might wonder why I have two HBA controllers. At first I did not know H310 mini and H310 are different. I proceeded to flash H310 mini with the H310 instruction and ended up bricking it. After I learned my mistake, I quickly purchased a H310, along with a USB eeprom programmer to fix H310 mini. Eventually I have both HBA flashed to IT mode. Both of them are tested working.

I proceeded with H310 mini to setup Proxmox and TrueNAS core. But then I realized that I need to pass through the HBA to TrueNAS for best performance. Being a noob, I did just that. And Voilà! My proxmox crashed because it lost access to the one and only HBA.

Well I still have a full size H310. So I think maybe I can connect both HBA to the server, and connect the SSD to only the H310 full size, and leave the rest to H310 mini.