Dell Poweredge R720XD initial boot truenas12 issues

Matt Rupert

Dabbler
Hello Forum,

This is my first time building a TrueNas/FreeNas server. Been on my list for years and finally pulled the trigger.

So I have lots of familiarity with desktop machines and building them. The server is new for me. As I power it up it take forever to post and get itself into a run state. I dont know if there are ways to speed this up. Is that kind of behavior normal?

But not my main issue. I have worked though the install instruction. I was able to reflash the H710 raid controller, and then install the TrueNas12 from the USB drive to the rear mounted SSD. In order to get the USB with the Truenas install on it to boot I had to switch the machine from BIOS mode the the UEFI. This I though to be weird as I had no problems being in Bios mode when I ran the freedos and linux raid reflash programs. From the installation instructions for the first time install it claims that on older hardware the BIOS mode is what you should be using. Do I need to correct something here? At this point I think I Have TrueNas installed onto the SSD mounted in the rear of the machine. Though I cant get it to boot at all. Its like it does not see the drive at this point. I have tried both Bios as well as UEFI mode. Has anyone else with one of these old servers had this issue and recall how to get around this or can recommend things to go back and recheck or redo.

The machine is a 12 bay front and 2 bay rear Dell Poweredge 720xd.
I have 2 of the E5-2670 - 2.60GHz 8 Core cpus, 32GB ECC ram, 7 hgst Megascale 4TB drives.

Thank you for the help!!
Matt

Youll want to use legacy BIOS mode for booting/installing. Is this SSD running out of a SATA port or off of the HBA? Use a MB SATA port if possible and set it to boot first, if you have not already.