Dell PowerEdge R710 used as a NAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwnerman

Explorer
Before I begin with my question I want to make it clear that I'm new to this type of computing and don't know much about all the different options so please bear with me on my questions. I also hope this is the right place to post this question.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I want to build myself a NAS for my data. I am by no means a content creator or anything of the sort with business critical data but right now the only thing backing up my data is a software raid 1 with my pc and also an external hard drive I copy everything to periodically. Hardly an optimal setup.

I want to build myself a NAS because I want access to my data over my network even when my PC is off and I also want more protection for my data. Pretty common reasons to build a NAS.

First I was looking at company built NAS solutions from the likes of Synology and QNAP. An 8 drive unit from them is expensive to say the least.

Then I looked into building my own NAS because I built my own computers so I figured it would most likely be cheaper. Investigating my options I came across FreeNAS and along with it people who were putting FreeNAS on old servers. Reading some of the documentation on this site it is obvious FreeNAS needs a great deal of RAM and computing power for trans coding.

I realize the Dell PowerEdge R710 is an old device. But you can get them so cheap I'm curious if for building a NAS I would get more performance out of an R710 with an 6 core Xeon and like 48 gigs of RAM for like 250 bucks instead a newer system for no more then $500 USD.

I don't care about power usage or noise. I just really want to know if this is even a plausible idea or if the cost savings isn't worth the older hardware and such.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Nick2253

Wizard
Dell PowerEdge R710