Defective USB boot drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

Job76

Cadet
Hi,
I am a novice to FreeBSD, FreeNAS and new to this forum.
I have encountered a serious problem with my FreeNAS installation and after searching for hours for an answer, I am hoping for your help!
I would, if possible, like to know how to:
1: restore and recover my USB boot memory
2: rescue the data on the hard drives, and attach them to a new installation, if the first option is not available.

I have accidentally created this problem myself, by powering off the server with the front button, by holding it in… Something on my network stopped working and with the server in another room, without any attached monitor, I did not know if it was down or not. I pressed the power button and waited, in hope that it would power down correctly but nothing happened, so I tried again and waited, and still nothing.
So I pressed the power button for more that 3-5 second and it turned off…
The problem was a fault network switch and not the server, and after I had replaced the switch, the server refused to boot.
I have four 3TB HDDs connected in a ZFS raid as data storage (one drive as spare), and booted FreeNAS from a USB memory.
This USB memory no longer boots as the server says it’s not a boot disc.
I am not even sure of the file system on the USB since I just went with the default install option.
I have tried to boot FreeBSD Live CD, and run a “fsck -t usf /dev/da1”
(I presumed da1 was my USB stick since da1 was listed when I inserted it)
It says something like “following disk sectors could not be read; 128, 129.. etc. up to 143.
ioctl inappropriate ioctl for device”

Best case would be if it was possible to repair the faulty USB, but I am ok with a new installation, but I would really like to keep the data on the hard drives.