Dataset Layout

Adia113

Dabbler
So I am completely new to Truenas and anything related to a nas tbh. I woke up one day and saw a video that I can use my old computer parts to build a server and now here I am. I have everything setup and I am creating the dataset layout. A lot of walkthroughs set up one dataset and then move on so its been a struggle putting together my dataset layout. I have come across some things to help me from this forum and also I have been using chatgpt. After a lot of thinking I came up with this setup. The datasets under Dataset1 will be common (a shared folder) and user 1 and user 2. I wanted to put those under dataset1 instead of directly under the tank dataset because then I can assign permissions to dataset1 and not have to mess with the tank.

The datasets labelled jails and non-jail plugins might be nonsense because I am learning as I am going and have not really gotten deep into jails and plugins. I do however want to think about those things now before I start adding data. Are jail datasets saved like this or is the datasets for the jail saved within the jail? I will research it more but that is one thing I was thinking about. Same with non-jail plugins, are there any that you would not want to run in a jail like Plex or a VM?

I appreciate any help!

Pool name: Tank

Tank

------Dataset1

------------Common

------------------Documents

------------------Books

------------------Music

------------------Movies

------------------Pictures

------------User 1

------------User 2

------Jails

------------Jail 1

------------Jail 2

------------Jail 3

------Non-Jail Plugins

------------Plex

------------VM

------------Other Program 1

------------Other Program 2

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Note, plugins are jails, so they would reside underneath the iocage dataset with jails, and don't need to be created manually. You may want to have a structure like this: