Current NAS is dying/dead, want to replace with FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmccullough

Patron
I have an old Seagate GoFlex Home 2TB NAS that I have been using for several years. However, it appears to be dying/dead. Rather than purchase another home user solution, I would like to build a FreeNAS server.

I have been looking at the FreeNAS® Quick Hardware Guide (updated 09/28/2016) and Hardware Recommendations Guide Rev 1e) 2017-05-06 (updated 05/06/2017), however both of these resources are a bit dated.

Is there an updated hardware recommendation list available?

danb35

Hall of Famer
The hardware recommendations guide is really pretty up-to-date--there hasn't been a great lot happening in the server hardware space recently.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Is there an updated hardware recommendation list available?
The hardware requirements for FreeNAS are about gear that is known to be completely supported and reliable. You could even step back a generation older than what is in the guide and still get a very good system for FreeNAS. It is not CPU intensive, but it does like a lot of RAM, depending on exactly what you want to do.
If you give us some insight on the things you want the NAS to be capable of doing for you, we could make some suggestions of value oriented components, or if you want to go high dollar, the organization I work for just put a contract out for a system that costs $40,000 ish. The important factor is to have the system scaled to match the requirement because you can easily over spend on components that provide no benefit, while missing the boat on the places where the investment should have been made.

Arwen

MVP
Well, AMD is releasing new, serious CPUs. But, there are few server boards out there with the new sockets, (SP3 & TR4). Even if we had more boards, AMD CPUs tend to be less well tested with FreeBSD / FreeNAS.

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer