SOLVED Cron/RSync job to move data to dated folder

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcalr3

Cadet
Hi folks,

I have been looking into this for a small while and I am quite stuck (I am quite new to linux in general).

I have a bunch of 5 network cameras saving their images to a volume called /mnt/Data/Camera2/Cam1, /mnt/Data/Camera2/Cam2, etc....

The cameras themselves do not support putting the images in dated directories so I need the ability for freenas to move the files into an "archive directory" so that the users who have the share added, do not need to map another network drive in windows.

I would like the backups to go to /mnt/Data/Camera2/Archive/<date> on a weekly basis. So far I have come up with the following, but I dont know if it is correct:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
HOME_DIRS="/mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam1/mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam2 /mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam3 /mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam4 /mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam5"
DATE_DIR=$(date +%Y-%m-%d)

for FOLDER in $HOME_DIRS; do
    mkdir -p "${FOLDER}/${DATE_DIR}"
done

mv /mnt/Data/Camera2/Cam1 /mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam1/${DATE_DIR}

I have also tried:
Code:
rsync -rvuAth --log-file=/mnt/Data/Camera2/weeklymove.log --remove-source-files /mnt/Data/Camera2/Cam1 /mnt/Data/Camera2/archive/Cam1/"date -I"

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Looks like you are moving in the right direction. I'd make a test folder with a few test files and run the script against that.

I guess that is up to you. If they both work and do what you want, just pick one.

fracai

Guru
mv will avoid the time required to copy the files.
you could also use the --link-dest argument with rsync to achieve the same thing.
Assuming that is that the dated directories are on the same dataset. If they're being moved to a different dataset, I'd probably stick with rsync.

Out of curiosity and off-topicy, what are the cameras that you use?

mcalr3

Cadet
mv will avoid the time required to copy the files.