CPU effect on freenas performance? Best low powered CPU for home use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

talexander

Cadet
Hi Guys,

I'm new to FreeNas, setup a box at work with basic ZFS pool of raid 1 2x1TB drives.

Currently have a media center PC with 700 GB used thinking of switching to a freenas system and storing it all on network.

Question:

What's the best performance/price for CPU's? I'd obviously want it on 24x7 so power is a concern. Ideas? Initially I was looking at like a 65w I3 but I'm reading some folks using as low as E350's from AMD?

Suggestions?

Thanks,

Tim

P.S. Anyone had issues using snapshot on ZFS? I make the ZFS snapshot and it says successful but its not listed and console says out of space, even though have 300GB free and trying to snapshot a 10GB dataset.

louisk

Patron
Unless you're planning on installing lots of plugins and doings lots of processing on the NAS, pretty much any modern 64bit CPU will work fine.

Pay attention to memory. You want 1G RAM per 1T of disk, and a minimum of 4G RAM.

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer

andoy31

Explorer
I actually have the same dilemna --- either to go with e350 or go with intel g530; price (about $30 higher)and power consumption (~10 watts higher) are almost the same however the performance gain is more than double....

@joshua, can you share the current throughput of your setup with 8 GB and 16GB of memory?

survive

Behold the Wumpus

ProtoSD

MVP
it's nice that you get PCI-e slots instead of the PCI slots you get on an atom. Asus has one with both 1x & 16x (4x electrical) so you can add an HBA & a proper NIC!
-Will

Hey Will,

Not sure about other Atoms, but mine has one PCIe x4 slot. My little Atom system isn't half bad at all, I'm just trying to figure out what happened to my network performance, which isn't horrible either.

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi protosd,