Explorer
Hello :)

I'll try to keep my problem short and simple:
  1. I'm a noob
  2. I'm stupid
  3. I'm a stupid noob :D

With that disclaimer out of the way:
  1. I have Synology NAS'ses, 16x WD RE4 4TB in it (2x8);
  2. I am running out of space and am studying migrating to FreeNAS; I will use the 16 RE4 disks in there too;
  3. I have a testbox with 1 WD 2TB disk in it;
  4. To properly test and study FreeNAS, I need to buy extra disks so I can put in at least 4 disks in the testbox; I will be reusing these new to buy disks in the FreeNAS system too (of course);
  5. I am thinking about a 10 or 12 bay server;
  6. The problem at hand is: which disks to buy, 4TB or 6TB?
    1. I understand a VDEV has to use similar disks. That would argue for buying 4TB disks for the test system too;
    2. Unfortunately, WD RE4 and WD Red are almost the same price; I could buy me the bigger 6TB disks to benefit extra from more space;
    3. That would require me to create more than 1 VDEV; 1 VDEV (VDEV-A) for the 4 TB disks, 1 VDEV (VDEV-B) for the 6 TB disks.
      1. Situation 1: only 4TB disks: VDEV-A (4 TB disks) : 1x8 from Synology + 2 from the testbox = 10 -> (10-2)*4 = 8 *4 = 32 TB of storage;
      2. Situation 2: 4TB and 6TB disks:
        1. VDEV-A (4TB disks): (8-2)*4=24TB
        2. VDEV-B (4-2)*6 = 12TB
        3. Total: 36TB
    4. So, this is a minimal difference of only 4TB:
      1. But the 6TB are already 'an investment in the future' compared to the 4TB. If I need to expand, I only need to expand the 4TB disks (I already have 4*6TB disks then);
      2. However, the 6TB have only 3 years warranty, the RE4's (4TB) have 5 years warranty;
  7. If it is starting to daze you, please feel in good company, as I am getting confused about what to do also :p

Now, what makes it even more complicated is: I am only starting to learn FreeNAS. It is fairly complex to understand what to do for the combination of optimum price/speed/reliability: