compatibility between ZoL and OpenZFS for replication

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjb2018

Dabbler
Hi All - first post here :smile: I've been using ZFS on Linux (Arch Linux) for around 3 years now, just on my home server. It's used for storage of all our personal data (photos, vids, docs etc), as well as for running a number of virtual machines. It's only a small setup really (3 x vdevs each with 2 x 2TB disk mirrored). My backup solution for this has been a bit sketchy, but still better than nothing - I have a raspberry pi (also running Arch Linux) driving a 4TB external HDD sitting on my desk at work and I have a script which runs every night to RSYNC select data from my home server to the PI. To improve this, I have recently built a new machine to replace the PI and I've installed FreeNAS 11.1 U5 on it. It runs really well! I've been tinkering with FreeNAS in a VM at home for maybe a couple of months but this is my first serious use of FreeNAS.

Ideally what I would like is to write a new script to run on the FreeNAS box to pull my pool from home periodically via SSH using ZFS send / receive instead of RSYNC. I've tested this on a single dataset and it works fine, except for one issue which is that when the send / receive is complete the FreeNAS box will not automatically mount the received dataset. I get an "insufficient privileges" error for some reason despite allowing "create,snapshot,receive,mount" permissions for my user on the receiving end. To get around this I can pass the "-u" option to the zfs recv command to skip mounting, and then I can mount the dataset with "zfs mount" when logged in as root. I'm not sure why this is happening - anybody got any ideas?