SOLVED CIFS. Slow Read Speed. Perfect Write Speed

Status
Not open for further replies.

atlbuckeye

Dabbler
Hey Guys, FreeNAS noob here. Just finished setting up my freeNAS on Friday. Got 6 drives in RADIZ2 format and I'm having trouble getting acceptable read speeds from my NAS drive. I have mounted the drive and transferred around 2TB to the NAS at gigabit speeds (~110 MB/s), but when I went to test out the read speed by copying a 2GB file form the NAS back to my desktop, I get between 500KB to 2 MB! What the heck?! I don't know where to look for the problem, or where to find a solution. I spent a good amount of time trying to find someone else with this issue, and a solution via google, but to no avail. Specs are below. Help!

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz
ASRock Micro ATX DDR3 1333 LGA 1150 Motherboards H97M PRO4
5x HITACHI Deskstar 2TB 7200RPM 32MB Cache
1x WD Green 4 TB
8GB Corsair Vengence RAM

Edit: iperf speeds

FreeNAS as server
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.121, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 0.03 MByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 3] local 192.168.1.142 port 64615 connected with 192.168.1.121 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 3] 0.0- 2.0 sec 2.75 MBytes 11.5 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 2.0- 4.0 sec 8.50 MBytes 35.7 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 4.0- 6.0 sec 7.00 MBytes 29.4 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 6.0- 8.0 sec 4.88 MBytes 20.4 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 8.0-10.0 sec 3.75 MBytes 15.7 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 27.1 MBytes 22.7 Mbits/sec

and PC as Server
---------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.142, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
---------------------------------------------------
[180] local 192.168.1.121 port 51339 connected with
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[180] 0.0- 2.0 sec 98.1 MBytes 411 Mbits/sec
[180] 2.0- 4.0 sec 97.2 MBytes 408 Mbits/sec
[180] 4.0- 6.0 sec 99.6 MBytes 418 Mbits/sec