CIFS bug with home dir case sensitivity after adding a user

Status
Not open for further replies.

liket

Cadet
Hi, I'm brand new at all this with FreeNAS but I think I've found a bug, I'll explain.

Firstly, I create a dataset called "home" with Share type: "Windows", Case Sensitive: "On", Enable atime: "Off" under my only volume called "Stripe-test" (Why it's called Volume instead of Pool was confusing me for a time, being new to ZFS too besides a light reading into to it.)

Second, I create my user with an upper case first letter called "Rickard", choose Create Home Directory under "/mnt/Stripe-test/home" and leave everything at default

Lastly I share my home folder under Windows (CIFS) with the path "/mnt/Stripe-test/home" and select "Use as home share", the only other thing i select is to add "full audit" under VFS Objects, because I think that's what makes samba syslog with full verbosity on that folder (?)

Now, I've added "Show console messages in the footer", so when I look at the log when trying to access my folder, I get the message:
"Oct 8 13:27:18 freenas smbd_audit: Rickard|192.168.1.57|realpath|fail (No such file or directory)|/mnt/Stripe-test/home/rickard"

This tells me it's trying to mount my folder with the first letter being lower case, despite me adding my account user as an upper case letter, and when I SSH in, looking at the file system, the folder has been created with an upper case letter.

Just tell me if I'm doing something wrong here or is this a bug?

Also, I'm seeing both "home" and a "Rickard" share when browsing my FreeNAS-server, even though I haven't shared my "Rickard" directory. From where in the config has this "Rickard"-folder automagically been shared? Is it just the default samba-config?
Notice also that the dedicated "Rickard"-share name has an upper case letter, but when trying to access it, It still trying to get me into a a lower case one.

edit: Forgot to say that it works if I rename the folder to lower case.