BUILD Casual home use NAS for media and backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

anandoc

Cadet
Hello folks,

This is my first time posting on this forum and building a NAS. I have been looking around for a decent off-the-shelf NAS solution and any decent NAS (not the garbage Dlink or Linksys ones) cost quite a bit. Then it occurred to me that maybe I should try building my own! It would be a less expensive affair and I would get the satisfaction of going through the build process.

I am posting a preliminary list of parts that I have selected for your review. My end goal is to have something in the 2-4 TB range with the capability to add more storage in the future, primarily to serve videos and save desktop backup files. Any and all comments would be highly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/1wrPx

CPU: Intel Celeron G1610 2.6GHz Dual-Core Processor ($51.30 @ DirectCanada)
Motherboard: Asus P8H77-I Mini ITX LGA1155 Motherboard ($112.52 @ DirectCanada)
Memory: Kingston Blu Red Series 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($73.43 @ Canada Computers)
Storage: Western Digital Red 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive ($120.97 @ Newegg Canada)
Storage: Western Digital Red 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive ($120.97 @ Newegg Canada)
Case: Lian-Li PC-Q25B Mini ITX Tower Case ($135.58 @ Canada Computers)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 430W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($56.48 @ Newegg Canada)

Total: $671.25

(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-08-26 12:18 EDT-0400)

hotalot

Dabbler
I would change the board, processor and ram. Why? ECC Ram. If you are going to build a Freenas server you want to use ZFS and it takes ECC ram to perform all its magic to protect your data.
Better choices (YMHO) would be:
Motherboard: Asus M5a 78 lx
Processor: Athon II X2 270 3.4 Ghz
Memory: Kingston ECC - don't need to be 1600

anandoc

Cadet