SOLVED "Can't Get Shared Memory" inside jail?

Status
Not open for further replies.

averyfreeman

Contributor
Hello,

I'm still pretty new to FreeNAS, but I have a tiny bit of experience with FreeBSD.

I'm running FreeNAS 9.3 on a server I hope to use for hosting to the outside world within a jail.

I'm hoping to use No-IP as my DDNS service. I have it all set up and have used it on past occasions.

The last time I had it working was when I used FreeNAS 9.2. I seem to remember that I set up the tmpfs variable in /etc/fstab within the jail, so I tried to do it again by adding the line:

Code:
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,mode=1777 0 0

However, I am still having the same problem. Invoking

Code:
# df -h

shows that I only have the root file system, and hence, no temporary shared storage system.

I'm sure this is a pretty easy solution for someone who's done it before, but I can't seem to find a definitive answer when searching the threads.

Please, if someone could shed some light on the subject, I'd surely appreciate it!

Thank you,
Avery

averyfreeman

Contributor
Note: I found a little bit more information by doing a little experimentation --

I added the line to my /etc/fstab of my FreeNAS distro, mounted the /tmp device using

Code:
# mount -o /tmp

and got the following result when invoking

Code:
# df -h | grep tmp

[root@n00bs3rv3r] /etc# df -h | grep tmp

tmpfs 32M 5.4M 26M 17% /etc

tmpfs 4.0M 8.0k 4M 0% /mnt

tmpfs 2.7G 38M 2.6G 1% /var

So it appears that it's not a limitation of FreeNAS, but rather, a limitation of the jail -

is there a way to configure the jail from the host OS so that it shares the tmpfs with jails?

Please help, this is killing me ...

averyfreeman

Contributor
[FACEPALM]I guess I should have looked a little harder (or read the manual ---)[/FACEPALM]

William Grzybowski said:
Why not just use Dynamic DNS from services??? It supports no-ip!!!

Read the thread here