Can't delete files, permissions issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

diskdiddler

Wizard
Hi all,

I've got a small selection of files which I can't delete.
I'm still new to all this but if I navigate to them in a telnet session I get the following information

[root@freenas] /<SNIP># ls -l
total 4030982
drwxrwxrwx 2 root nogroup 4 Aug 26 11:49 ./
drwxrwxrwx 107 root nogroup 108 Aug 3 14:00 ../
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root nogroup 92 Oct 4 2013 <FILENAME01.txt*>
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root nogroup 4123409661 Oct 5 2013 <FILENAME02.mkv*>

I can delete these fine from a putty / telnet session if I navigate manually to the location.
Windows Explorer refuses to delete them.
I'm a newb but I'm setting chmod -R 777 on all kinds of files just to stop general permissions issues I'm having.
What am I doing wrong, why can I not delete these under Windows?

diskdiddler

Wizard
NOTE: Error message from Windows Explorer.
The action can't be completed because the file is open in another program
(This is definitely not the case)

diskdiddler

Wizard
I didn't want to but I rebooted the server, didn't fix it (that's actually good) - I don't want weird intermittant behaviour. Still no idea what's going on though

esamett

Patron
There is a known problem with permissions and windows. Search terms Cifs. Samba. Permissions. Windows acl.

diskdiddler

Wizard
Is there a solution? I'll do a search now.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
There is a known problem with permissions and windows. Search terms Cifs. Samba. Permissions. Windows acl.
There are zero issues with cifs and permissions. There are only issue with users doing it wrong. I'm assuming your issue is that the user trying to delete the file doesn't have write access in the directory. Because you are modifying a directory when you remove files from it the user doing the delete needs correct permissions on the directory.

diskdiddler

Wizard