Can i reboot server remotely?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NZ_JJ

Dabbler
Wouldn't creating a hourly / 1/2 hourly cron job,running a script to ping the affected plugin/jail and restart the plugin/jail if no response be the simplest and most secure way of achieving the end result?
No open ports no external IP required.

Stux

MVP
Setup a VPN, or don't bother.

scrappy

Patron

Evertb1

Guru
Total noob here, have had issues with my FreeNAS having issues and needing to be restarted, which got me thinking, what if I'm on the road, trying to access Plex or NextCloud and the server isn't working. Is there a way for me to easily reboot the machine remotely? Thanks in advance. Laymans terms appreciated...When I say noob, I mean TOTAL noob to the server world.
So you want to be able to restart your FreeNAS box remote? You have received al kinds of replies with do's and dont's. If you are half way interested in keeping your security on an acceptable level take good note of the given advice/counsel.

That being said, I don't agree that you should not do what you want. Even you being a noob. Just be careful. Everybody can learn. And having a need (as you see it) is a good time to start your learning. Everybody was a noob at some point. Some of them are even expert on this forum now. When it comes to networking and security I am pretty much a noob myself. Still I have managed to create a VPN connection to my homework (from my work laptop) and use it well. Just investigate and be sure of what you do before you do it. In my case I had some helpful documentation and the luck that I own a good router (Fritz!box) making a couple of things possible the easy way. So for me VPN was it. In your case? Who knows? Start with your investigation. And I think that reading up on VPN and reading the manual and specs of your router might surprise you.

Last edited by a moderator:

danb35

Hall of Famer