can freeNas manage multiple zpools?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rsqdivr

Cadet
Hi guys. I'm just learning about the zfs and freenas. While I'm intrigued but the features offered by ZFS, I'm concerned about creating a storage array(zpool) that, if expanded, could be totally lost if any vdev fails.

I have searched but cannot find a direct answer to this question: Is it possible for freeNas to manage more than one zpool? If so, why is that not advised? My thinking is that if one zpool was lost, the entire server data will not be lost. Thanks.

gpsguy

Yes, it can. One example, might be for backup to an eSATA drive, where it might be a single drive in it's own pool.

For more information about vdev's, etc. read Cyberjock's guide

rsqdivr

Cadet
Thanks for the reply. I have 2 concerns about your suggestion though:

1.) the Cyberjock's guide specifically advises against eSATA drive use and especially single drive vdevs because a single drive failure would cause a loss of the entire zpool.

2.) My question is, can FreeNas manage more than one ZPOOL at the same time (not vdevs. I understand the vdev expansions). The guide only refers to adding additional vdevs to "the" zpool. I understand I can expand the zpool but again, if any vdev is lost, the whole pool is lost. For safety, is there an ability to manage multiple zpools (composed of vdevs) with the same FreeNas build so that "if" one zpool was lost, all of the server data is not lost (only the affected zpool is lost)?

Example:
Let's say I want to setup my photo RAW files and export images in a zpool of their own so their integrity isn't impacted by a catastrophic failure of the zpool that serves my generic files, video streaming files, etc. Can 1 machine and FreeNas build manage them as different volumes (not just vdevs of the same zpool)? I would expect the spools to be on different physical arrays completely. Something like this:

FreeNas build:
Zpool-1 (i.e. Volume 1)​