Can a Dell Mini run FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjminch

Cadet
So I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff, but have been trying to do some reading.

I have a Dell Mini 9 netbook, Atom single core processor, 1GB ram, 8GB SSD running on XP. Haven't touched it since I got an Ipad, and figured I might be able to use it for something. I want a network storage device to back up files/photos from Win7 laptops, and maybe at a later date stream my music library to my blu-ray player and i tunes.

Storage will be roughly 2TB on external USB drives connected to the mini.

This will be installed in a fireproof gun safe (or at least that is the plan, haven't tested reception). So ideally the software should work with the built in wifi. If it has to use Cat5 then maybe I can run an access point outside of the safe. Also the mini doubles as small form factor, don't want a huge tower in my safe.

So is my hardware up to par? I have no budget for this but don't want to waste my time if it can't be done.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
I am going to say no. USB is a bad idea, and FreeNAS is not a good option for that. You might have a look at just running Windows or something like Xubuntu/OpenMediaVault, etc

cyberjock

Inactive Account
USB is very unreliable. When a hard drive starts having problems (even minor ones) the hard drive will end up "disconnecting" itself from your computer. If you value your data, don't go with any external interfaces. It's just not reliable. USB/Firewire/esata works great for portable disks, but for servers.. heck no.