Building new TrueNAS server with Broadcom SAS3016 PCIe card

talekksna

Cadet
Hi,
I am new in TrueNAS community, but I am not new in server/storage world. I have on my disposal new Supermicro AOC-S3816L-L16iT, AOC-S3216L-L16iT, AOC-S3616L-L16iT cards, which works in IT/HBA mode.
Can I use any or all of these controllers, or they are too new and/or not supported?
I am planning to order one of those cards.
At the moment, for testing purpose I build TrueNAS core on Supermicro X10DRi motherboard with RAID controler AOC-S3108L-H8iR that I configure in JBOD mode, and it is working without any problems. Disks are visible to the TrueNAS with all details and SMART capabilities.

I read general posts that are talking about RAID JBOD cases, and drawbacks with this kind of configuration, but those articles are year or more old, so I am wondering is something changed when SAS3108 in JBOD mode is in question?

If there is more articles about experience with SAS3108 and TrueNAS, please, be kind and point me to those articles.

Thank you very much.

Đorđe Talović

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I have on my disposal new Supermicro AOC-S3816L-L16iT, AOC-S3216L-L16iT, AOC-S3616L-L16iT cards, which works in IT/HBA mode.
Can I use any or all of these controllers, or they are too new and/or not supported?

Any of them that run the IT firmware and show up under the MPR driver should be fine. The list of supported cards that work under MPR is a moving target and has grown over time. Check the "man mpr" manual page for your version of FreeNAS/TrueNAS to see if it's supported on whatever you are running. For example, for FreeNAS 11.3, the supported controller list includes

Code:
     •   Broadcom Ltd./Avago Tech (LSI) SAS 3004 (4 Port SAS)
     •   Broadcom Ltd./Avago Tech (LSI) SAS 3008 (8 Port SAS)
     •   Broadcom Ltd./Avago Tech (LSI) SAS 3108 (8 Port SAS)
     •   Broadcom Ltd./Avago Tech (LSI) SAS 3216 (16 Port SAS)
     •   Broadcom Ltd./Avago Tech (LSI) SAS 3224 (24 Port SAS)