BUILD Build and first post

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ceetan

Contributor
Greetings, honored FreeNas-forumites *Ahem*

I have been in the market for a nas for a while now , and as I tend to gravitate to open source solutions I found my way here, eventually.

After lurking a for a while and reading quite a lot I finally plucked up the guts to compile a build skeleton in 2 variants.

I am somewhat new to this, so I am in great need of advice.

One concern I have is disk replacement difficulty, so I would be especially curios to hear input from people who have experience with building in these cases.

Use case in short: Single household user. Media server and some back up.

Both selected cases are quite small due to space constraints, so I intend to pic up some PWM fans for additional cooling, but this requires some additional research.

An additional question is : Might it be better to update the first variant to Skylake/ DDR4 for additional future proofing? I do want the server to last me a while

The first variant is the one that currently seems must suitable for what I want and need

Case - Fractal design node 804

CPU - Intel Core i3 4170 3,7GHz

Motherboard - Supermicro X10SL7-F

Memory - 4 * Samsung ddr3 8gb ecc M391B1G73QH0-CK000

Boot device (undecided: Small SSD or USB)

Storage - WD WD40ERFX 4TB Red X 6 or 8 in raidz2

PSU - Corsair RMx Series RM650x

The second build is more expensive but tempting given that i have concerns over diskrepalcement with the first.

Case - Fractal Design FD-CA-DEF-R5-BK Define R5 Black $ 179.00

Motherboard - ASRock E3C224D4I-14S

Memory - 4 * Kingston ValueRAM DDR3 PC10600/1333MHz KVR1333D3E9S/8G (Unsure About this one)

Boot device (undecided: USB or a DOM of some sort)

Thank you in advance for any help!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
One concern I have is disk replacement difficulty, so I would be especially curios to hear input from people who have experience with building in these cases.