Bridging network interfaces for iSCSI share

Nashable

Cadet
Hello All,

This is my first post. I have been playing around with FreeNAS for about 6 months and in the last month decided to put in into my production environment.

First to say, FreeNAS rocks. It works great and am glad I decided to try it in our testing environment.

I have read everywhere I can about this and the only thing I can find on the forums is "use a switch instead of a software bridge". I did find one solution here but it didn't work, it was based on FreeNAS 8.3.1.

Here is my setup:
3 x Proxmox Virtual Environments each with:
- 2 Intel GB dual port NICs (1 port each to general network and 1 port each to iSCSI on FreeNAS) double cards for redundancy.
- VMs served from iSCSI using ZFS on FreeNAS.
- ISOs and Backup from NFS on FreeNAS.
FreeNAS server with:
- 2 x Intel GB quad port NICs (1 port each to general network and 3 ports each as dedicated iSCSI to each Proxmox Server) double cards for redundancy.

I would like to create a bridge of 6 ports on FreeNAS (3 ports from each card) to send/receive iSCSI data @ 10.10.0.100.

Right now I have everything working but with a single port for iSCSI connected to a single Proxmox Server. I thought to setup each of the 6 ports with a different IP but they cannot be in the same subnet (from what I can tell) so I used 10.10.0.100, 10.11.0.100, etc.

Proxmox will not work this way to move VMs from one Proxmox Server to another in the same cluster, it needs to have the same iSCSI target information for all servers. On the 2nd Proxmox server it cannot reach iSCSI at the same IP so it shows the shared storage is offline.

A solution is to use a GB switch. However, I like direct physical connections especially for shared storage. This eliminates the need for extra hardware to fail.

I hope I am missing something that allows this feature. I am pretty green on FreeBSD and more of a CentOS user.

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings,
NAShable

Zedicus